Skip to content

A pair of haiku and a triolet gone wrong

February 10, 2013

Here we go then, three short poems from my recent postings on the Linkedin Poetry and Literature site.

First up, a haiku inspired by a friend’s repeated use of a certain cyber-slang acronym in her emails to me…

LOL

Wow, “lots of love,” I thought.

Oh, “laugh out loud,” I see.

Still I feel lucky.

Funnily enough, in her several emails since the poem appeared, she hasn’t used the acronym once.  Wish she would!

~~

Next, a triolet gone wrong.

The triolet is a medieval French verse form, which came in over here during the latter 19th century.  It has eight lines of ten syllables, alternatively eight lines of eight syllables, following an AbaAabAB rhyme scheme.  Lines 1, 4 and 7 are identical (hence “triolet”); so are lines 2 and 8.

Got all that?

I’m afraid I hadn’t when attempting my first triolet…

QUILT

She nicks her knuckle accidentally.

He treads the flint path between bulrushes.

A patchwork quilt for his blind eye’s dazzle.

She nicks her knuckle accidentally.

A patchwork quilt for his blind eye’s dazzle.

He’ll bring home a poem to enchant her.

She nicks her knuckle accidentally.

He treads the flint path between bulrushes.

I liked my slightly off-the-wall characters and understood their relationship.  I had fun switching from her perspective to his and enjoyed accenting the words in recital – nicksss…acci-dent-ally…bul-rushes…  There was something obsessive about it, something comically sinister…

A far cry, perhaps, from the triolet’s medieval origins in song and dance.  I smacked my brow when I realised I hadn’t rhymed my lines properly where supposed to!  Oh well…

~~

Finally, another haiku, a philosophical one this time…

OUR GIFT

More than genes, it is:

A passing down of our best

To those who follow.

~~

© Copyright Paul Beech 2013

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

