Skip to content

Job’s a good ‘un

March 30, 2014

I can’t believe it – click an icon and up pops the page straight away; click a link and I’m straight in, first time, every time. No more refreshing or rebooting; no more protesting roar.

An air of calm has descended in my study, the reason being the beautiful new desktop built for me by my son Chris. Jet black, with a cool blue glow at the foot of the tower, it’s as quick as the classic sports cars on my screensaver, but not quite so noisy – virtually silent, in fact.

I shall now be able to make the most of my writing time without all that frustrating faffing about. Truly I believe a new chapter has begun for Grandy.

Cheers, Chris. Job’s a good ‘un!

~

On Thursday I wrote my first poem on my new computer, a poem of harrowing springtime memories… or it would be, were it true. My use of the first person is purely for effect.

 

DAFFS TO YANK

 

Sparsely, then clustered, daffs along the bank;

still your tree bleeds, rusty brown to its roots.

Ambushed, overcome, I grab daffs to yank.

 

Sparsely, then clustered, daffs along the bank.

Elderberry wine was the last we drank;

you sank to a tawny’s quavering toots.

 

Sparsely, then clustered, daffs along the bank;

still your tree bleeds, rusty brown to its roots…

 

Paul Beech

 

Copyright © Paul Beech 2014

(Poem also posted on Linkedin.)

~

To my wife, my daughters and all you other special mums out there, have a wonderful Mother’s Day.

Paul

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

