Skip to content

So Long…

November 2, 2014

Written on the day of the Autumnal Equinox, this one is an unashamedly romantic poem…

SO LONG…

So long has it been
since our harvest moon,
geese on mudflats,
a dark ghost:
so long has it been…

From my high perch texting,
ping-ping your replies,
our code grown rich:
so long has it been…

Stars beyond stars,
the toot of a tawny,
our lips will meet
as if never apart,
so long has it been…

Paul Beech

Copyright © Paul Beech 2014

From → Poetry

8 Comments
  1. “So long has it been…” the repetition is not only lovely and romantic, but gives an edgy sense of delayed gratification that is coming to realization. Texting ping pong, and “our code” lift it right out of the Romantic era into our present world, and yet the intimacy and great feeling remain. I really enjoyed reading this poem, Paul!

    • Cynthia, thank you so much for this. Yes, there are powerful emotions here, agony and elation, the lovers having endured separation now soon to meet again. Yet despite any parallels with the Romantic Era, these are lovers of the present day, their code a private language of longing developed through texting.

      You have seen exactly what I’m about here, and that is most gratifying.

      Very best wishes,

      Paul

  2. I love how the romance seems subtle. From the atmosphere of the harvest moon, the correspondence in the second stanza (should I call it a stanza?), to the moment where the sweethearts kiss. Very sweet write.

    • Hey Lita, thank you, your comments always mean a great deal to me and I’m thrilled you like this poem. (Will reply to your email shortly.)

      Take care,

      Paul

  3. Maureen Weldon permalink

    I love this poem very much.

    Maureen

  4. Dear Paul,
    This poem is so romantic, with the hint of promises that conjure up such beautiful feelings in me. It is so you. Your sensitivity, your sense of romance. Your wife is a very lucky woman, or is it she that brings that part of you to life.
    I learn so much from reading your post, it is a pleasure when I visit your blog, and I often do to re-read some of your work. Kudos.

    Fond Regards,
    Patricia :o)

    • Dear Pat,

      Truth is, I’ve been given to romantic musings for as long as I can remember, certainly since my first year in grammar school back in ’58, when my gorgeous French teacher would thrill me with her blushes.

      Thank you for your beautiful comment. Your own blog is a favourite of mine too.

      Fondly,

      Paul

Leave a Reply

