Skip to content

Filaments Aglow

November 23, 2014

My wish is to write more material of the genuinely heartfelt kind, both in poetry and prose. Yet I cannot deny an impish streak in my nature! Aye, there are times when I cannot resist whacking out a few lines purely for fun. A catchy phrase to please the tongue, perhaps. Or an image to set the filaments aglow. It’s surprising, sometimes, the things revealed in the light of those glowing filaments…
~~
It had been awhile since my last triolet when, the other evening, walking up the Weaver Valley, I had a yen to write one again, maybe one set a couple of centuries ago…

SHEPHERDESS

Valley dusk, sheep with grubby-look grazing;
river-bound, the shepherdess and her beau.
Pontoon privacy, passion blazing.

Valley dusk, sheep with grubby-look grazing;
spent and slack in his arms, pontoon-lazing.
Fins flash, owls toot, her child begun will grow…

Valley dusk, sheep with grubby-look grazing;
river-bound, the shepherdess and her beau.

Paul Beech
~~
As for the following haiku, I’d been reading over coffee and croissants during a thunderstorm when this one struck like a bolt of lightning…

CROISSANTS

Croissants thunder rain,
Golden butter oozing warm.
Naked she beckons…

Paul Beech
~~
Have a great Sunday, everyone.
~~
Copyright © Paul Beech 2014
(Poems previously published on Linkedin.)

From → Poetry

4 Comments
  1. Dear Paul,

    As I sit here in the wee hours of the morning reading your poem and haiku a profound sense of serenity overcomes me. My inner me has taken flight and traveled back across the centuries to the meadow of the shepherdess and her beau.

    Then romance from a croissant and coffee, all because of a thunder storm that has rolled across the meadow.

    Thank you for a beautiful start to my day. :o)

    Regards,

    Patricia

  2. Dear Pat,

    It is gratifying to know that my wee poems have given you pleasure. In their different ways, both are rooted in my home turf.

    My stretch of the Weaver Valley means a great deal to me, as did – at a far more exalted level! – ‘Camusfeārna’ to Gavin Maxwell, ‘Minack’ to Derek Tangye and ‘Bramblewick’ to Leo Walmsley. Certainly I find the valley with its rich wildlife, long history and chugging narrowboats a constant source of inspiration.

    Thank you for your beautiful comment.

    Fond regards,

    Paul

  3. Maureen Weldon permalink

    Hello Paul, I like these two poems, especially “Shepherdess” like the idea of writing about a time gone-by, a time maybe of myth in a classical referance. In this poem the shepherdess and her beau lazing on a pontoon the light fading on a Summer’s evening, water gently lapping, the sheep with grubby-look; as sheep can look in fading light; while they the shepherdess and her beau living in their own world of love. ‘her child begun will grow.’

    Maureen Weldon

  4. Maureen,

    I’m so pleased you like ‘Shepherdess’ – thrilled, actually, because the way you see the pontoon scene is exactly how I visualize it myself, the shepherdess and her beau in their own world of love. Maybe there is a myth of sorts emerging too, because I see her child as the “quiet lad” in my poem ‘Save One’ (included in my poetry post of 12/01/14, ‘Light and Shade’).

    You’ve made my day – thank you,

    Paul x

Leave a Reply

