Skip to content

Bandage

July 24, 2016

Here’s a sneak preview from my book, Twin Dakotas. And my finger really was heavily bandaged at the time of writing!

 

BANDAGE

.

Two sad women waiting,

bloke with iPad fiddling.

Wintry sunshine through a skylight,

landscape on the wall.

.

My turn at last.

A tweedy, jovial doctor:

he examines it,

squashes it,

tells me not to mess with it,

just wait for it to go.

.

And now it has:

my blister has burst,

messily,

and a bulbous bandage

encases my right index finger,

a barrage balloon,

a blue whale,

a flock of starlings

under the moon,

one hundred thousand strong.

.

I cannot bend my finger,

can hardly hold my pen,

yet write this poem I will.

Bet on it, Doc:

for those brave glossy starlings,

I will.

.

Paul Beech

Copyright © Paul Beech 2016

5 Comments
  1. This is lovely, Paul. The images take us right there, from the mundane to the sublime. And, my, what a brave fellow you are, indeed, to write the poem in spite of it all. (Perhaps you got the blister from writing too many poems?) But, as they say, the show must go on!

    • Thanks Cynthia, I had a chuckle writing this one though it was a bit of a challenge with my right index finger enormously bandaged! As for shows going on, Gosh, my booklaunch is getting close now, just the week after next…

      My very best,

      Paul

  2. Very nice, Paul. I love the positivity in your poem. And you have to be one of the few people that I know that can making something like a bandage/injury beautiful through words.

    • Hi Lita, so glad you like the poem. I’m looking forward to my booklaunch on 11th August. Maureen and I will be at rehearsals again this afternoon with Mike Penney, whose own first collection will be launched alongside mine at Ye Olde King’s Head in Chester. There’ll be live music integrated with the readings, so it should be fun.

      We must catch up soon.

      Take care,

      Paul

  3. Enjoyed the atmosphere of the scene, the beautiful setting – where you so easily took us from one world to another. This was a lovely piece of work Paul.

Leave a Reply

