Skip to content

Rehearsals

August 2, 2016

Yesterday Mike Penney, Maureen and I did another rehearsal for our event at Ye Olde King’s Head, Chester, on Thursday 11th August.  Mike will be launching his first poetry collection Where Silence Deepens and I’ll be launching my first collection of poetry and prose, Twin Dakotas.

Maureen, my partner (Maureen Weldon, actually), will act as compère, something she’s able to do superbly well, having great stage presence as a former professional ballet dancer with the Irish Theatre Ballet, and as a poet herself – a very widely published one!

Mike, who plays guitar, will accompany me when I read my title poem, ‘Twin Dakotas’, about my wonderful late parents, Bert and Elsie Beech, whose memory I’ve dedicated the book to.

Maureen plays the mouth organ and maracas. And Kemal Houghton, Chair of Chester Poets, is also a guitarist.  So there’ll be plenty of music weaving in and out of the readings.

I’ve no musical skills at all but will join the others and have a jolly good go with an egg (of the rattly, musical variety) when the final number, ‘Fly’, is performed.

A lively evening in prospect, to be sure. And with only nine days to go, it’s getting exciting!

 

Copyright © Paul Beech 2016

3 Comments
  1. It sounds like it’s going to be a great night. I know all who attend will enjoy the show. I wish you all the best. I would love to be there. :o)

    • Thanks, Pat. I only wish you could be there. I remember you once mentioned you’d played the bodhrán. You could have joined us on stage!

      Fond regards,

      Paul

  2. Can’t wait to read on and see how your evening turned out – spectacular I suspect!!

Leave a Reply

