Skip to content

RIP Cynthia Jobin

December 23, 2016

I was much saddened to learn that Cynthia Jobin, the American poet, passed away on 13th December 2016.  Regular readers of this blog will know that Cynthia often commented on my posts here in a most thoughtful and supportive way.

I was an avid follower of her own brilliant blog, “littleoldladywho”, and posted my final comment early this morning. Here it is:

~~

Sitting quietly with the sun not yet risen, I think of Cynthia, whose poetry and friendship have meant so much to me since discovering her blog two-and-a-half years ago.

With her wide vocabulary and mastery of form, her humanity, humour and skill in painting pictures in the mind, Cynthia was a most amazing and versatile poet. Her finely-wrought work was not only entertaining but deeply moving and thought-provoking too, playful and profound by turns, even sometimes inviting contemplation of the great mysteries.

We have to be thankful for the beautiful poetry Cynthia left behind for us to treasure; thankful for her friendship too, the warm, lively friendship she showed towards each of us individually who made up her online community. Our world is surely the richer because of her.

In quiet moments like this, when I might have been responding to her latest poem or replying to one of her wonderful comments on my own blog, I will remember “littleoldladywho”.

My sincere condolences to her family.

Paul Beech

~~

Copyright © Paul Beech 2016

2 Comments
  1. Cynthia will be missed. There’s nothing I can add to such a beautiful tribute to a great lady and poet.
    May RIP, amen. :o(

Leave a Reply

