Skip to content

The Pole

January 1, 2017

Happy New Year, everyone!

One highlight of the day for Maureen and I was watching The Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra with conductor Gustavo Dudamel live on BBC2, 11:15am – 12:45pm. What a fantastic concert!  We were blown away.

But earlier, beneath the twinkling lights of our wee Christmas tree, I flipped open a copy of Twin Dakotas: poetry and prose, my debut collection published by Cestrian Press last year, and re-read a short poem that rather tugged my heartstrings. Here it is…

 

THE POLE

.

I could do it,

.

I could walk along the pole,

the old telegraph pole

that lay on the ground.

.

Arms wide for balance,

one foot gingerly placed

in front of the other,

grandchildren following,

giggling,

I could walk along the pole,

the old telegraph pole on the ground.

.

Half-covered in moss

and fallen leaf,

the pole is rotten now,

yet still I glimpse

their nimble spirits

briefly.

.

Paul Beech

~~

My very best to you all for 2017.

 

Copyright © Paul Beech 2017

 

From → General, Poetry

4 Comments
  1. Another of my favorites Paul.
    Happy New Year filled with love, joy, continued success and of course fun and laughter. xoxo

    • Thank you, dear Pat. Hope you’ve been thoroughly enjoying the festivities Stateside. Maureen and I saw the New Year in with poetry friends on the Wirral, a truly lovely occasion with plenty of music, chat and laughter.

      We’re just hoping our flat in Shotton sells soon so we can complete the move to our new home in Connah’s Quay, the wee hillside bungalow we love so much and have been living at mostly since Christmas.

      Happy New Year, from Maureen and I – may 2017 prove a most joyous and fruitful year for you and yours,

      Paul x

  2. Nicely put! I rather think that entering 2017 feels like walking that telegraph pole.

    • Thanks John. True, some things are about maintaining a precarious balance, like walking the pole. But then there are those exhilarating chance moments when we just have to go for it and hope for the best! I welcome every New Year for the potential of that blank diary.

      Wishing you a healthy, happy and peaceful 2017,

      Paul

Leave a Reply

