Skip to content

The Contest

July 16, 2023

Hi folks,

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve posted here.  And there’s a reason for that – work, work, work!

Firstly, my partner Maureen and I were both on the editorial panel for the forthcoming Chester Poets 50th Anniversary Anthology.  Needless to say, practically every member of the Chester Poets group wanted to be in this special anniversary anthology, so we had submissions flooding our inboxes day after day before the deadline.  The book is due out on 14th September.

Secondly, I’m due to give a haikai workshop for Chester Poets on Saturday 19th August, and this has required a great deal of preparation.

Anyway, finally clear now, I should like to post my last haibun in which my “Kid Bro” appears.  As regular readers of this blog will know, he passed away on Tuesday 18th April.  Brian (to use his real name) was not only my brother, he was my best buddie too, and he will forever be in my heart.

My haibun was first published in the November 2022 issue of Failed Haiku, edited by Bryan Rickert.

Have a good Sunday everyone, and take care.

Paul

*****

THE CONTEST

We’ve been many hours on the road.  Dad driving, Mum at his side.  We three boys in the back.  Yes, many long, boring hours…

But now our spirits soar.

We’ve left the grime of our Lancashire mill town behind.  The smoke and stench of factory chimneys too.

Now we have a Welsh mountain purple with heather.  We have salty sea air.  And a first glimpse of the Menai Straights with Anglesey and Puffin Island beyond…

Dusk is falling as we reach the guest house.  Penmaenmawr lies below, first lights twinkling.

I help Dad carry our bags in.

adventure books…living the life

Sunrise…

After a leisurely breakfast, we walk into town.  Kid Bro and I are with Dad, Mum trailing with Junior.

A sudden bang echoes down the mountain and we freeze on the spot.  Dad explains they’re quarrying for granite.  He buys Kid Bro a beach-ball and me a crabbing line.

back-alley skiffle…whoops and laughter

Sunset…

Whilst Mum is putting Junior to bed, we older boys walk down to the beach with Dad.  And there he teaches us to fling stones so they skip over the tide.

A golden ebb tide it is.  And Dad’s first flat stone skips six times.  Kid Bro and I manage a miserable two skips each, but we’re determined to beat Dad’s score.

Half an hour later, in the deepening dark, we give up.  My best score was three skips, Kid Bro’s four.  But there’s always tomorrow…

box brownie days

black-and-white memories

we treasure

Paul Beech

.

Copyright © Paul Beech 2022, 2023

From → General, Poetry

8 Comments
  1. clivebennett796 permalink

    What a cracking haibun Paul. And another lovely memory to treasure. You’ve done him proud.

    Skipping stones across the waves – no I couldn’t do that very well either. Your dad must have had a real knack. Even on the river I could never manage more than about eight …

    skipping stones one two three fourfivesixseveneight

    Best wishes to you and Maureen

    • Many thanks, Clive. Memories to treasure they certainly are, those happy family holidays of long ago, in Penmaenmawr.

      Unfortunately ‘The Contest’ was written that bit too late to be included in my collection ‘Curlew Sunset’. A shame perhaps, but my book already contains many fond memories of my much loved “Kid Bro”, Brian.

      Take care, and very best wishes to you and yours from Maureen and me,

      Paul

  2. Paul, thanks for sharing! Your haibun was a pleasure to read…life was so simple back then.

    • Thanks, Al. Lovely to hear from you as always. So glad you enjoyed my haibun. And yes, life was simpler back then, in the latter ‘50s, the scars of war healing now. I’ll never forget those days, and the fun we had, me and my “Kid Bro”.

      My very best,

      Paul

  3. Maureen Weldon permalink

    Paul my love. Your family holidays. Penmaenmawr. The togetherness of you and Kid Bro. “whoops of laughter” and fun shared with your Dad. “In a golden ebb tide, your Dad’s first flat stone skips six times.”
    I love this haibun, and never get tired of hearing about your childhood memories and of course your brother Brian.
    From your Maureen with love. xx

    • Thank you, my darling Maureen.

      Yes, those were the days! And how we loved those carefree holidays in Penmaenmawr.

      Brian and I, being just old enough, were allowed to wander the streets on our own for an hour or so. And we made the most of it, buying crisps and milkshakes in a tiny café near the seafront, then wandering the beach, collecting shells.

      Dad was a great sport too, and we enjoyed our games of skimming stones though never able to beat him!

      I’m so glad you love my haibun. It means so much to me because of my “Kid Bro”.

      With all my love always,

      Your Paul xxx

  4. Lovely to read your precious memories of holidays with mum, dad and Brian. I am writing this on Brian’s birthday and my thoughts are with all of his family and friends today. I am sure we will all have a quiet moment of reflection and think about the old times with him.

    We were very lucky to have such a large family. However, having six children, it must have been tricky for mum and dad to arrange family holidays. Squeezing us all into an Austin Cambridge must have been a feat in itself! I might have shared holidays with you and Brian but I would have been a baby and have no memory of this. But I do remember, when you were older, that mum and dad would send you, Brian and Noel to Butlins whilst Clive, Philip and I went on a separate holiday with mum and dad. What fun you three older boys must have had!! I too remember skimming stones on the beach and on the shores of Loch Lomond with dad, Clive and Philip whilst mum watched on and, as you say, dad was an expert skimmer!

    • Many thanks, Angela.

      On Brian’s birthday, I felt his loss terribly, and guess I always will when the day comes round. Not being able to ring him at the care home with Maureen at my side, keen to have a few words too.

      As for those holidays at Butlin’s – oh gosh, what fun we had, myself, Bri and Noel.

      Many are my memories of happy times with Bri in various places, ranging from Portscatho in Cornwall to dance clubs in Chester. And Maureen never tires of hearing about them.

      Take care,

      Paul

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.